Latest Update

With Christmas on the doorstep the Bertie Bus team have lots on this month. However, the icy roads (and pavements), as well as much colder days in January tend to discourage many of Bertie’s service users from heading out. With this in mind Bertie Bus typically reels in some of their services during the winter months.

For clarity (and to avoid disappointment) we thought it might be good to highlight the final December dates for Bertie’s trips, as well as note the date on which these regular events will resume.

Bertie Bus Important Dates 2023-24

Tuesday 28th November: The Tuesday Shopping Trip will have its last run for this year on the 28th November. The first trip of 2024 will take place on Tuesday 23rd January.

Sunday 3rd December: The final Tea Dance visit of 2023 will take place on Sunday 3rd December and will resume in spring (more details to follow)

Monday 4th December: The last Muthill Run of the year is scheduled in for Monday 4th December. The next run will take place on Monday 5th February

Tuesday 5th December: Bertie’s last visit to Richmond House will be on the 5th Dec resumes 9th Jan

Friday 8th December: The Bertie Bus Friday Club will have it’s last Friday Club run of 2023 on the 8th December. However, there will also be a run for Friday club attendees for the Christmas lunch on Friday 15th December. The first run next year will be Friday the 1st of March

Monday 11th December: Bertie’s last run this year from Comrie is 11th December. The Bertie Bus team hopes to start up again on 12th February (more details to follow).

Tuesday 12th December: The last Library Morning of the year will be on Tuesday 12th Dec. Bertie’s service users will have the chance to return their books (and find some new ones) on Tuesday 9th Jan.

Wednesday 13th December: The Wednesday Club will have their last 2023 run to get along to their Christmas lunch on Wednesday 13th December. The first run of 2024 will take place on Wednesday 7th February

Friday 15th December: This is the date of the the Friday Club’s Christmas Lunch. Their first run next year will be on Friday 1st March.

Thursday 21st December: The Lunch Club will take its last run of 2023 on Thursday 21st December. The Royal Voluntary Service runs the lunches and the catering for this comes courtesy of Tayside Contracts so the club coincides with school term times. The first run for next year is on Thursday 11th January.

The Bertie Bus team wishes a Merry Christmas and a fantastic festive season to all of their service users and to Bertie’s dedicated and valued volunteers. Thanks go out to all of the wider community who support this fantastic service, and the team wishes you all a Happy Christmas and all the best for the new year.


Posted on